
Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles FAQ Sheet: 
 
All Connecticut residents with a vehicle registration, driver's license, or non-driver ID card must 
update the DMV within 48 hours of any change of address. Changes made online are effective 
once your transaction has been successfully processed. Statutes for non-compliance penalties 
have been approved by the governor and are being proposed throughout the state.  
 
Once you have established residency in Connecticut, you have 30 days to transfer your out-of-
state license and car registration to Connecticut. 
 
The estimated time to change your address online: 5-7 minutes 
https://portal.ct.gov/DMV/DMV-Services/Change-Of-Address 
 
If you moved to a new state, you are typically required to get an updated replacement drivers 
license within 30-90 days. 
https://portal.ct.gov/DMV 
 
Are you missing a tax bill for a car? Are you registered? To verify your car tax, call the Town of 
Warren To verify your car registration status: 
https://dmvcivls-wselfservice.ct.gov/Registration/VerifyRegistration 
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